Travel inspired gin cocktails

Travel inspired gin cocktails

Did you know it was World Gin Day on Saturday 13 June? I celebrated in style by creating four travel themed inspired gin cocktails! Here you will find the recipes and methods for the four cocktails I made, so you can have a go at making them yourselves!

Prefer to watch a video of these cocktails being made? Check out my video on my Instagram!


English Garden

Quintessentially British, the English Garden is a gorgeous fruity gin cocktail, using key British flavours including apple and elderflower. I chose to make this cocktail because (as you may or may not know), I am from the United Kingdom, so this cocktail was inspired by my own roots! I’ve never tried an English Garden before but now having tried it, it’s clear to see that I’ll be making this cocktail over and over again…

English Garden ingredients

Here’s what you’ll need for this cocktail:

Serves 1

50ml gin (for this cocktail I’d recommend Hedrick’s Gin)
25ml elderflower liqueur (I’d recommend this Sainsbury’s version)
75ml apple juice
Squeeze of fresh lime
Cucumber ribbons to serve

English Garden recipe

  1. Add ice to a cocktail shaker
  2. Add gin, elderflower liqueur, apple juice and lime juice to the shaker
  3. SHAKE!
  4. Serve over ice in a tumbler
  5. Add cucumber ribbons to serve

French 75

This cocktail, obviously founded in France, is a gin based cocktail topped with Champagne (I used prosecco…) This drink dates back to World War I and was created by Harry MacElhone in 1915 at the New York Bar in Paris! My love for prosecco and gin are combined in this cocktail which I’ve never tried before and again I can see this becoming a new favourite of mine.

French 75 ingredients

Here’s what you’ll need for this cocktail:

Serves 1

50ml gin (for this cocktail I used Bombay Sapphire)
Squeeze of fresh lemon
1tsp sugar syrup (I’d recommend this one by Monin)
Prosecco/champagne (I used this one by Tesco)
Lemon zest to serve

French 75 recipe

  1. Add ice to a cocktail shaker
  2. Add gin, sugar syrup, and lemon juice to the shaker
  3. SHAKE!
  4. Serve into a champagne glass and top with prosecco
  5. Garnish with fresh lemon peel

Southside Fizz

This cocktail was originally called a Southside, which appears to be similar to a gin martini. However, for this one I’ve added soda water to make it a twist on the classic and more of a long drink. It’s still under speculation where this cocktail originated from, but it is rumoured that it was created in Chicago and was Al Capone’s choice of drink!

Southside Fizz ingredients

Here’s what you’ll need for this cocktail:

Serves 1

50ml gin (for this cocktail I used Bombay Sapphire)
Squeeze of fresh lemon
1tsp sugar syrup (I’d recommend this one by Monin)
Handful of mint leaves
Soda water
Mint to garnish

Southside Fizz recipe

  1. Add ice to a cocktail shaker
  2. Add gin, sugar syrup, mint leaves and lemon juice to the shaker
  3. SHAKE!
  4. Serve into a gin goblet/large martini glass with ice and top with soda water
  5. Garnish with mint leaf

Raspberry Collins

This cocktail dates back to 1876 when it was written in the Bartenders Guide by Jerry Thomas who was known as the “Father of American Mixology”. The original Tom Collins is a classic gin cocktail that was founded in New York. Since being founded, this cocktail has a range of variations, and the one I made was a Raspberry Collins which gives the classic a nice fruity twist.

Raspberry Collins ingredients

Here’s what you’ll need for this cocktail:

Serves 1

50ml gin (for this cocktail I used Bombay Sapphire)
Squeeze of fresh lemon
25ml sugar syrup (I’d recommend this one by Monin)
Handful of raspberries
Soda water
Lemon slice to garnish

Raspberry Collins recipe

  1. Add ice to a cocktail shaker
  2. Add gin, sugar syrup and lemon juice to the shaker
  3. SHAKE!
  4. Prepare a tumbler with ice and muddle a handful of raspberries at the bottom to create a raspberry puree
  5. Serve the spirit mixture over the ice and mix with a spoon
  6. Top with soda water and mix again
  7. Serve with a slice of lemon on the glass

I hope you enjoy these cocktails as much as I did! Let me know in the comments which ones you made, or if there’s any other gin cocktails that are your favourites!

2 thoughts on “Travel inspired gin cocktails

  1. Well if I’d known this on Saturday I would have made one!! Oh well, next Saturday then 😉 And I’ll be re-visiting your post for a recipe (or two).

    Like

  2. I’ve been getting a little more creative with gin lately, and invested in a bottle of Tanqueray 10, which my husband and I have really enjoyed. We tried a French 75, and last night we made a pomegranate gin fizz, which was delicious! Now I want to try a few more on your list here. They all sound so refreshing!

    Like

Leave a comment